Rules Discussion #2 Outflanking chosen


In my game last week I came up with a rules question that I thought someone out there may be able to answer. Watch the video which should be short and let me know what you guys think I am able to get away with ;p

14 comments:

Hades Alpha said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Hades Alpha said...

Page 94. Last sentence at the bottom rigth.

They must be embarked in their transport.

Sorry Matt.

Magilla Gurilla said...

Sorry Matt, but Kris is right.

The last sentence of the paragraph that deals with outflanking states that if they have a dedicated transport they must come on the table embarked in it.
Sorry bud!

Itgiger said...

how do you guys get your tables to look so good?

Nagamo said...

Kris is right, they have to enter the board inside the Rhino, ´cause it´s a dedicated transport bought for the unit. I had a similar problem with my Striking Scorpions and the Serpent and dropped the transport, so that I have the option to infiltrate or outflank and attack afterwards...

Steven Beasley said...

One thing to note, that you can come on embarked in your transport, or you can leave the transport behind and outflank on foot. So for eldar, if you outflank on the wrong side you can move fast, and then star engine get a 4+ cover save and be on the right side of the board for the assault the following turn. While you couldn't quite do this you could get close to the middle of the board. Some tactics you should try out. Plus if you are lucky you can roll a reserve roll for your rhino and maybe move fast and get close back to your unit to help support them.

Black Matt said...

in my ard boys list, I dropped a melta gun in the chosen squads because I need the points. I have 5 points leftover and I had considered meltabombs in order to give my the squad some close combat teeth. What do you guys think. Can I even use the melta bombs on anything other than something wit h an armour value?

Black Matt said...

@ Steven,
when do I have to make the decision and announcement that I am walking in on foot and bringing the rhino in my table edge?

Wildeyedjester said...

You have to announce whether the squad will come in embarked in the rhino before the first turn, since you must put objects into reserve to outflank before the game starts. If you put the rhino and squad into outflank, they have to be inside it.

If you just put the squad in outflank, and either put the rhino into normal reserves or on the board then the squad will outflank without it and it does its own thing.

The_King_Elessar said...

Yep, in the Rhino, declared at deployment.

Steven Beasley said...

Yes I was wrong about that rule. I should have read before I posted. When you are deploying you have to specify weather or not the units are embarked or not when they are put into reserves. Sorry about the confusion.

Nagamo said...

@Matt: No, you can´t use melta bombs against anything but armor. Nevertheless, I often put left over points into melta bombs, most of the times on sorcerers. My regular squads have Power Fists most of the time, but anything without a fist get´s a melta bomb for flexibility.

Black Matt said...

Melta bombs on Sorcerer or chosen?

Marius Xerxes said...

Id put them on the individual you think is most likly to get attacked by a dread or getting that close to some other type of vehicle that can explode.

With most marines coming with Krak Grenades now, its best used as a high rear armour transport exploding device (Land Raiders) and as a deterant to walkers with high(er) front armour values like dreads.